top of page

We Still Believe

Filing Period Opens for Tribal Elections

The filing period began today (August 24) for the Lumbee Tribal elections. There are seven council seats up for election, along with the chairman’s seat.

The filing period will continue through September 18. The tribal elections are set for November 17, 2015.

The council seats up for election are Districts 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10 and 14. Council members and the chairman serve three-year terms.

The District 1 seat, held by Evan Davenport, includes Gaddy, Rowland, Orrum and Sterlings.

District 4, held by Jonathan Locklear, includes Red Springs and Philadelphus.

District 5, held by Bobby Dean Oxendine, includes Oxendine and Prospect.

District 7, held by Robert Chavis, includes South Pembroke and Union.

District 9, held by Anita Hammonds-Blanks, includes Saddletree.

District 10, held by Terry Collins, includes Shannon, Rennert and South St. Pauls.

District 14, held by Homer Fields, includes East Howellsville, Wisharts and Britts.

Council members Robert Chavis, Terry Collins and Homer Fields are ineligible to seek re-election because the Lumbee Constitution prohibits council members from serving more than two consecutive terms.

The filing fee for the chairman seat is $500. The filling fee for the council seat is $250.

To be eligible to be a candidate for chairman, candidates must be at least 35 years of age, maintained their residency in the tribal territory for the past year, and have no felony conviction.

To be eligible to serve on the Tribal Council, a person must be an enrolled tribal member of at least 21 years of age; maintained his or her principal residence in the district for no less than one year; and have no felony conviction.

The Tribal Election Board office is located at 78-D, Three Hunt’s Drive in the Comtech Business Park off N.C. 711 in Pembroke. The office is open from 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday. The phone number is (910) 521-8965.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page